Buddha Mandala Monastery, Chittering, Western Australia Buddhist Practice System

Brief Introduction

Due to historical and cultutral factors, Chinese Buddhism has not fully absorbed the essence of Mahayana's way to Buddhahood.  Though the teachings in Chan Buddhism, transmitted by Bodhidharma, has svabhavakaya practice method, its practice will not lead to the attainment of the states of wisdom Dharmakaya, Sambhogakaya and Nirmanakaya (which are practices of clear light, illusory body, tantric deity, death existence, intermediate existence and birth existence found in Esoteric Buddhism). Moreover, Chan Buddhism lacks concrete practice method and theory, however, if a practitioner is willing to religiously search for answers based on the theory, he can still attain sainthood, thus the value of Chan Buddhism cannot be overlooked.

The theories and practices in Estoric Buddhism are exceptionally supreme; they include perfectly explained teachings of sutra and tantra. In order to sharpen the wisdom of practice, the best in Chan and Esoteric Buddhism should be adopted, to reach a complementary effect.

Aspiring practioners should note that both practice systems require the direct guidance o qualified Supreme Masters and Chan Masters. Esoteric Buddhism uses a variety of concentration and visualisation methods to enable a practitioner to improve; Chan Busshism points directly at the nature of mind and uses the slat-and-yell method aiming at the shortcomings of its practitioners; this method is truly unbearable to modern peopledue to their egotism and strong self-esteem, therefore Buddha Mandala Monastery (BMM) will use the realisations from the Esoteric theories and practices as guidelines to complement Chan Buddhism's direct approach, to skillfully nuture and guide its practitioners.

Purpose of Practice

The primary objective is to become a Buddha
Unfeigned Faith, Indestructible Will and Immovable Diamond Determination are the prerequisites for every believer to tread successfully on the long road towards Buddhahood. The pactice journey begins with the above in mind, together with the practice of the three trainings (in ethical discipline, concentration and wisdom), generation of bodhicitta and accumulation of meritorious virtues and wisdom.

Three main parts that make up BMM's Path to Buddhahood Practice System


Objectives of Path to Buddhahood Practice System

1. Individual Meditational Practice
Based on BMM's Practice System, a set of guidelines is being designed for adults who are determined to learn Buddhism so as to lay their foundation for further practice in future.

2. Group Research and Discussion
Gathering the professional expertise of students to research and discuss using multiple perspectives, so as to respond to all kinds of sharp queires on Buddhism raised by the public; at the same time, through practice of Chan, using the concrete religious experience to explore together the ways to face and resolve the Four Obscuration) as well as problems on old age, sickness, death and the like.

3. Nuture Vernerable and Buddhist Lay Disciples
To nurture venerable and Buddhist lay disciples who have strong theoretical foundation in Buddhism and experience in meditational practice, to apply the methods they have been practicing to control their own minds, to resolve the confusions they have about the mundane world and to be able to leave sufferings from within their minds and gain great happiness from being able to leave the mundane world.

4. Spread of of Buddhism
To enable the continued spread of wise and farsighted Buddha's teachings in the human world, to allow human beings to see the root cause of sufferings clearly, know and understand the ways to extinguish sufferings and increase meritorious virtues.

Path to Buddhahood Practice System - Five Stages for Advancement

Explanation of the Five Stages for Advancement

1. Dharma Talk by Venerable: Every weekend, the venerable will deliver dharma talks via modes of network connection to devotees in Singapore, Malaysia and Australia, the contents are based mainly on the five major Biddhist texts.

2. Buddhist Terminology Course: While listening to the venerable's dharma talks, students who have not attended two to three years of Dharma Class can attend Buddhist Terminology Course at the same time to build up their foundation in Buddhist knowledge. This course is led by senior Buddhist lay disciples.

3. Path to Concentrate on Practice: This is a transition stage from general learning to focus learning with more targeted contents, known as PCP in short. Participants must have attended either two to three years of Dharma Class or Buddhist Terminology Course.

4. Practice Booklet Series for Advancement: Going through the PCP phase is a prerequisite to apply for the Practice Booklets; there are eight in the whole series. The unique feature of the booklets is that they combined theory and actual practice to provide guidelines for progressive stages of practice.

5. Application for Solitary Retreat: Only practioners of Practice Booklet 2 and beyond who had studied Lam Rim Chen Mo and True Views system can apply for the solitaty retreat.



Copyright © 2014 Nalanda Society. All Rights Reserved.